Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

About to buy a 2001 Z06 - Need some Help!

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2012, 12:42 PM
snaggle
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default About to buy a 2001 Z06 - Need some Help!

Hey guys! Im a complete newbie to american cars, considering all or most of my cars were all japanese/european.

However, about to buy my first American car, the one I always loved and always wanted to buy, a corvette.

I have always loved them, and now I have got the chance to buy one, however, I know nothing about them, and need some quick tips about buying a used one, as I found a good one at a good price, and everything on it seemed okay.

So its a 2001 Corvette Z06, so im assuming its a "C5" since it was a 5.7L too... Its got 65,000 miles on it, and it had A LOT of power when he took me for a spin in it. Without traction control, 1st gear would get a lot of tire spin, and would also get some spin on 2nd gear too, without dumping the clutch, just accelerating full...

However, considering its a 2001, and got a decent amount of miles on it, I am scared it may have some hidden problems that I may not know about. Plus, the owner kept claiming it had 0 problems, and everything was good, but when I asked him many questions, I could feel he was lying about the car and he was hiding something, but I may be wrong...

Now - overall, from what I saw, I want to buy the car ASAP - for the price, year and other deals we have here locally, its very good.

However, could you guys please give me some tips on these corvettes as for what to look for when buying? I really dont want to end up buying a car with many problems and things I would need to repair like my last car I bought that was also an older model (2003 mitsubishi evolution)... So considering this is a 2001, im guessing it would be more prone to problems.