Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Typical coolant temperature ranges for a C5 with a 160 degree thermostat

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2013, 11:03 AM
ZeroToSixty
Burning Brakes

Received 38 Likes on 23 Posts

Default Typical coolant temperature ranges for a C5 with a 160 degree thermostat

I have a 160 degree thermostat installed in my C5 (along with a Chuck Cow tune) and my coolant readout ranges from 170 to 194 degrees.........is this normal ?

Is it possible that there is some air in the system that causes this jump to 34 degrees above the thermostat setting ? Or is there another reason the range is so great ?
Old 07-29-2013, 11:24 AM
Evil-Twin
Team Owner

Received 3,812 Likes on 1,925 Posts
St. Jude Donor '03-'04

You will typically see higher temps in the 210/ 220 range in stop and go traffic under 35 mph. a thermostat has no control over the upper temp, only over the lower temp range.. a 160 stat means the coolant will never go below 160 F. once the stat is open at 160 it has no ability to cool anything. electric fans are designed to cycle on and off to help with their shelf life. If the fans were to run constantly, they would not last 6 years.
heat is transferred from the cooling system via the radiator and the draw of air across the cooling surface via the fan's speeds or vehicle speed above 35 mph..
also the variation in temps is very normal
the over heat temp of A c5 IS IN THE 260 RANGE, anything below that is within spec. the usual culprit ojn the C5 cooling system is debris in the ac condenser and radiator which prevent a complete flow of air through these two components.

Last edited by Evil-Twin; 07-29-2013 at 11:28 AM.
Old 07-29-2013, 11:25 AM
3boystoys
Melting Slicks

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

160 degree thermostat only opens at 160, the rest of the system hasn't changed. If the retune changed the fan settings, that would have more to do with the temps your seeing. 160 degree t-stat is a waste of $$., all it does is open sooner.