Sponsored by:

Oh my aching back!

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2014, 08:22 PM
lonerider2002
Racer

Received 47 Likes on 36 Posts
Default Oh my aching back!

The vette is sitting on stands out in the driveway(have carport-no garage)and I am 3/4 thru my brake/rotor switchout. Going w/TPS black zinc coated rotors and Raybestos ceramic pads along w/SS brake covers-and when that is done I have RPI molded splash guards and a radiator guard to install while it's in the air.
I have never done anything with disc brakes before nor ever wanted to.But checking out all the videos on the web along with all the help from this forum I decided to tackle it. I bought every tool I thought I may need-HF elec impact wrench and sockets, breaker bar,torque wrench and anything else I deemed necessary,also a low profile jack(already had an A/A cheapie that came in handy),four 3-ton stands, several pairs of various gloves and all chemicals needed for a brake job. I had already made some ramps to get her far enough in the air for the jacks and also some support beams for the jacks. I have some pucks but didn't like the thought of setting the vette on something round that could slip. So I made some blocks out of solid oak and velcroed them to the underside of the frame where the pucks would go to hold them in place and the stands fit perfectly on them-solid as a rock(also left the jacks in place but backed them off a little).