Sponsored by:

Paint Defect Correction - Experimentation

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2014, 03:58 PM
jmxp69
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Paint Defect Correction - Experimentation

I'll start by saying this post is not intended to be a product comparison or debate thread. What I'll try to do is provide a little background, an explanation of the problem(s), and the steps I've taken to resolve them.

I've been detailing my own cars for about 10 years. I've primarily worked with Meguiar's products and a Porter Cable [PC] DA Polisher. For defect removal, #83 Cleaner/Polish has been my go-to paired with #80 Speed Glaze prior to wax. Lately, I've used Ultimate Compound for defect removal and Ultimate Polish to finish before wax.

I've used a variety of waxes including #26 Yellow, Gold Class, NXT, and Ultimate. Up until today, I've only used Meguiar's Yellow Pads (W8006) for all applications. I also just received my first shipment of Zaino Z2 and Z5. Generally I reach for NXT or Ultimate because neither of them dust during removal and they're both pretty easy on black trim.

With background and products identified, I'll explain the problems. I just bought the car a few weeks ago. It's a 2003 with 20k miles. Overall, the paint was well cared for. The previous owners obviously kept it waxed because I don't have any acid/water/bird crap etching. However, it's clear they didn't understand the concept of managing swirl or hazing. I knew when I bought it the car was covered front to back with swirl marks--no surprise there. I attribute this failure to lack of any paint correction over the car's 11 year life and the use of abrasive products (towels). I've also got some hazing, and to my surprise on deep inspection last night, pigtails and a few tracers. From two feet away, you'd never see it. With the right light--well--let's just say I've got my work cut out for me.