Sponsored by:

Flat spotting tires

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2014, 02:30 PM
Catman58
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flat spotting tires

Well it's about time to do the winter storage here in the Nebraska. I am looking for ideas on what needs to be done to keep from getting flat spots on my tires during storage. Or is this something I don't need to worry about? Looking like storage will be November to April at least that is what I am renting the space for. Any thoughts? Thanks for your opinions.

Last edited by Catman58; 11-02-2014 at 02:53 PM.
Old 11-02-2014, 04:23 PM
Borntorun04/17
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 908 Likes on 622 Posts

First I'm no expert on tires . But this is what I do in regards to tires and winter storage. I but some extra air in tires and on garage floor I put down small carpet square on floor under each tire. Then I but down plastic sheet under entire car thinking it might work as a vapor barrier. I haven't noticed any flat spots in spring. If there was any it must of been very little and worked it way out after a short drive in spring . I store my car from mid November til the mid April. Hope this helps.
Old 11-02-2014, 05:14 PM
JR-01
Le Mans Master

Received 1,063 Likes on 805 Posts

I bought these 1.5 inch thick high density foam cushions for 2 for 5 bucks at Menards to help prevent flat spots. I also add about 5 pounds of pressure.

http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tirete....jsp?techid=42

Many heavy-duty, high-performance, high-speed-rated and racing tires have memory. They continue to remember the position in which they were last parked after they are driven on again. Unfortunately their memory can become a problem when the tires experience big swings in ambient temperature, have been parked overnight in cold temperatures, or are parked for an extended period of time. Because it’s lack of use that can cause tires to flat-spot.