Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Do I absolutely need the X Pipe?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2014, 07:48 AM
dece1416
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I absolutely need the X Pipe?

Hey Guys,
My xmas gift to my self this year is an exhaust. I decided on the Corsa indy/Sport with tigershark tips. My question is do I absolutely need the XO pipe? Will I get a ridulous amount of popping on decel? I'd rather put the 300 bucks into the install than the x pipe, but if it needs it then i'll get it.

I'm new to Corvette world, just bought this 98 Vert manual this fall.

Any comments are welcomed! Have nice Holiday everyone.
Attached Images  
Old 12-21-2014, 08:18 AM
tentuna
Drifting

Received 65 Likes on 54 Posts

Originally Posted by dece1416
Hey Guys,
My xmas gift to my self this year is an exhaust. I decided on the Corsa indy/Sport with tigershark tips. My question is do I absolutely need the XO pipe? Will I get a ridulous amount of popping on decel? I'd rather put the 300 bucks into the install than the x pipe, but if it needs it then i'll get it.

I'm new to Corvette world, just bought this 98 Vert manual this fall.

Any comments are welcomed! Have nice Holiday everyone.
I experienced less popping (motor boating) when backing off the accelerator and sound level was about the same with an X Pipe, by the way a Borla X pipe runs ~$230, if I remember correctly Summit ship it for free.
Old 12-21-2014, 08:24 AM
dece1416
Intermediate

Originally Posted by tentuna
I experienced less popping (motor boating) when backing off the accelerator and sound level was about the same with an X Pipe, by the way a Borla X pipe runs ~$230, if I remember correctly Summit ship it for free.

Thanks Tentuna. Maybe I should get it then. I'm assuming its a perfect fit if the x pipe and the exhaust are different?
Old 12-21-2014, 08:42 AM
c5vetteguy
Melting Slicks

Received 231 Likes on 163 Posts
2018 C5 of Year Finalist

Do you absolutely need an x-pipe?
Yes, yes you do.