Tire Question for First time buyer

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2015, 07:23 AM
John Madeja
Racer

Received 10 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Tire Question for First time buyer

Hello everyone!

first off i'd like to say i'm sorry for posting another thread about tires as I know there are already tons of threads out there. However I can't seem to find the right answer to my question. Also this is my first time buying performance tires so i'm new to the whole performance tire world (this is my first new set i'll be buying for my vette)

I'm looking into buying some new C7 Z06 Rims that are custom built for the C5 fitment (17inchX9.5inch front - 18inchX10.5inch rear)
The shop that is selling the tires was telling me they also offer a tire package with the rim so I asked and he let me know that the tires were Bridgestone Potenza RE760 Sport in the following sizes
(2) 265/40/17
(2) 295/35/18

now they rear tires seem fine to me but I tried researching why the bigger front tires and not just the stock 245/45 size?....I guess i'm just not experienced enough but what does a bigger front tire do for me? does it help with handling? or better traction?

P.S. - I also do freeway driving with grooved roads so will a wider front tire give more or less of that pulling feeling while driving, like the tires want to follow the grooves more or not...

Thank you for any advice guys!
Old 01-26-2015, 07:36 AM
dadaroo
Le Mans Master

Received 290 Likes on 226 Posts

Make sure the rear tires are 1/2 to 1 1/2 inches larger in diameter than the fronts or it will screw up Traction Control.
Old 01-26-2015, 07:50 AM
ZF Six
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 136 Likes on 85 Posts

The stock 245/45-17 is for a 17x8.5 rim. Since you're going to a 17x9.5 front, they are recommending a wider front tire. Same with the rears. Stock is 275/40-18 for an 18x9.5, and you're going to an 18x10.5.