Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking to buy my first Corvette (narrowed it down to two)

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2015, 06:47 AM
prez1967
Instructor

Received 22 Likes on 14 Posts

Default Looking to buy my first Corvette (narrowed it down to two)

LONG TIME Corvette fan, been drooling over them since middle school when a classmates father picked him up from school in an orange '78 that for some reason took my breath away (back then).

Fast forward and I currently have my jollies in my 1993 Mustang GT that i've been fiddling with for the past 15 years. I've had plenty of fun cars in between to include BMWs, Subarues, VW, etc. Currently looking to replace my 2008 R32 and figured now is the time to get my "dream car".

I've found two cars i'm very interested in.

A: 2001 Coupe, Manual, loaded (silver/black), Z51, dual tops, etc. 50K miles, original owner. Only modification would be a custom single DIN Alpine stereo, dual 10" subs, Rockford Amps and Boston speakers. Clean car with only one minor blemish. Noticed that there was a constant humming when driving that didnt change in pitch based on speed (Wheel bearings?). Seller claims he is firm at $14,900. Originally a Michigan car thats currently in White Planes NY. Carfax checks out with what seller was telling me.

B: 2004 Coupe, Manual, (Silver/Black)similarly loaded but not sure if it has Z51. 109K, being sold at a "whole sale" dealership for $12,995. Seems to be bone stock, I'm scheduled to go drive it today or Monday. Carfax says its a 3 owner car. Seems to have started life as a Michigan car and bounced back from NC to OH and currently is offered in Leesburg, VA.