Sponsored by:

Replacing factory GM shocks with an electronic / adjustable suspensions

Old 11-09-2015, 04:52 PM
Skyehawke
7th Gear

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Replacing factory GM shocks with an electronic / adjustable suspensions

Hello Folks,

I am a Corvette owner newbie, recently purchased a 2001 C5 base Hatchback which now has 70,000 miles. Went to replace shocks and the shop tells me they won't replace the factory shocks with other shocks, as they are electronically adjustable.

My questions are:
Are these adjustable shocks still available?

If not, and I replace them with non-electronic adjustable shocks, what are the repercussions?

With the "Traction Control" warning light stay on forever if I don't replace with factory originals?

I searched for a previous thread and didn't locate one so any help at all is much appreciated.

Help please!
Old 11-09-2015, 05:48 PM
bikeriderga
Melting Slicks

Received 196 Likes on 159 Posts

Originally Posted by Skyehawke
Hello Folks,

I am a Corvette owner newbie, recently purchased a 2001 C5 base Hatchback which now has 70,000 miles. Went to replace shocks and the shop tells me they won't replace the factory shocks with other shocks, as they are electronically adjustable.

My questions are:
Are these adjustable shocks still available?

If not, and I replace them with non-electronic adjustable shocks, what are the repercussions?

With the "Traction Control" warning light stay on forever if I don't replace with factory originals?

I searched for a previous thread and didn't locate one so any help at all is much appreciated.

Help please!
There was an F45 suspension option where the shocks are indeed electronically adjusted. It was kind of the first stab at the magnetic ride control option. This option I believe was available from 1996-2002. In 2003, cars equipped with this option went to the F55 option, which is on all 50th Anniversary cars.