Diagnosing my LS6 problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2016, 03:00 PM
AParsh
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Diagnosing my LS6 problems

Hey guys,
I recently had an issue with my LS6 that was in my 2002 C5 Z06.
I was told by a local "corvette expert" shop that at least 1 rocker arm was broken, and that there was a good chance my cam broke and did damage to the bottom end.

Fast forward 5 months to today. A brand new LS6 is completely installed in my z06 now and i have the old LS6 sitting in my garage on a nice engine mount. Ready to tinker away.

I removed the "broken" rocker arm last night and see that it's definitely not broken at all. However, the tension was lost on this one rocker arm because the pushrod and valve are not in sync to hold it tight. I am not an expert with motors but I'm wondering if maybe the cam is broken and because of that is no longer pushing on the push rod that holds the rocker arm in place? Does that even make sense?

I'm now wondering if this is as simple as replacing the cam to get this motor back to where it should be.

For what it's worth, here are the list of mods on this motor we are discussing:
-World Warhawk LS1X aluminum heads (11:1 / 62cc chambers / 235mm runners) (135lb on seat / 390lb open pressure)
-REV SS valves (2.08 intake / 1.6 exhaust / 45deg seat / 30deg back angle cut)
-REV Vanadi-Coil Xtreme Endurance Dual Valve Springs (OD 1.34" & rated up to .65 lift)
-REV Seat Locators
-REV Titanium Retainers
-Custom Xtreme Energy RPM (XER) Comp Cam (238/244deg duration / 114deg LSA)
-Comp Magnum Pushrods (7.8inch)

Thanks,
Alex
Old 04-06-2016, 03:57 PM
Vetteforplay
Advanced

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

It's very unlikely that the cam broke. It's possible that the lifter broke and chewed up the cam. If the lifer broke then that would make the valve not open up properly.
The following users liked this post:
AParsh (04-06-2016)
Old 04-06-2016, 05:25 PM
AParsh
Racer