C5 Scan & Tune Corvette Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, Fuel Management, Tuning Software, LS1 Edit, AutoTap, Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

Advice for noob on possible C5 purchase

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-2015, 06:33 AM
Tacteam1
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice for noob on possible C5 purchase

I'm new to Vettes but not cars. 93 FD RX-7 TT and a stable of Mustangs/Cobras are in my history. I've been researching a while and have read the info on some potential problems on the 97-00 models. However, I test drove an 02 Base with 95k miles the other day and noticed the warning system showing to check abs and to check traction control system. I've talked the guy down to $11,800. Is this worth it? What am I getting into with this? I'm a car guy and know maintaining cars is part of the hobby and a must, but don't really know what I'm getting myself into with a C5. I'm a quick learner and figure if I can learn the rotary motor of the RX-7 and the modular motor of a Cobra, surely I can learn my way around the
LS platform. Thanks in advance!
Old 12-17-2015, 12:41 PM
oh1vette
Safety Car

Received 153 Likes on 117 Posts

See:

https://www.google.com/webhp?sourcei...control+system
Old 12-17-2015, 12:42 PM
oh1vette
Safety Car

Received 153 Likes on 117 Posts

Here's something else you'll want to do:

Old 12-18-2015, 10:37 PM
tblu92
Le Mans Master

Received 281 Likes on 258 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13-'14-'15

Both the ABS and the traction control use data from the wheel speed sensors at each wheel--The ABS to stop skidding on a hard stop and the TC to stop spinning on a hard launch
If you are getting a message for both then most likely all you have is a fouled -dirty or broken wheel speed sensor "pigtail" This is very common--also sometimes simply driving on a rough road or over railroad tracks will trigger these messages----You can simply clear all the codes 1st to see if the re-appear if they do then look at the pigtails