C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

White Smoke Out Exhaust - Let's Speculate

Old 06-07-2007, 09:27 PM
RobWilson
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 218 Likes on 145 Posts

Default White Smoke Out Exhaust - Let's Speculate

Okay....the wait is killing me, so I'm hoping someone out there has had a similar experience.

Right now, my '03 coupe is sitting at my trusted Corvette mechanic's house and has been since late last week. He is away on the Hot Rod Power Tour until this weekend, so he won't be able to look at it until early next week.

Some background on my car....the engine has a TSP 225/225 .591/.591 114 LSA cam, 5.3L TSP race heads, UD pulley, ceramic coated Kooks 1 3/4" headers, and TSP dyno tuning. I have been running this setup for 26 months and almost 15k miles. The rev limiter is set to 6700 rpms and my shift light is set for 6400 rpms.

I recently had a lot of gear whine in my DTE stage 2 differential with 3.90 gears. After driving 1400 miles round trip in March to run the Texas Mile, I decided I couldn't deal with the gear whine. I had the differential pulled and shipped back to DTE for a rebuild with 4.10 micropolished gears. There is a 350 mile break-in period for the DTE differential. Just to be safe, I did a 450 mile break-in. From the time I ran the Texas Mile, until I got the rebuilt differential broken in was about 2 months. In that whole time the car had not been driven hard.