C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dynatech headers installed!

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2008, 12:46 AM
cdn ws6
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dynatech headers installed!

As some of you may know I recently decided to try and install a set of Dynatech Longtube headers and catted x-pipe on my 03Z. I am by no means a mechanic and really hadn't turned a wrench on this car since I bought it last May but wanted to attempt this install.

I started by looking at as many threads as possible regarding header installs on C5 Vettes. After reading a few, I jacked the car up, put it on jack stands, and tore into her!

It took me about 2:30-3:00 hours to remove the old system and this was taking it slow so that I didn't screw anything up. I used some penetrating oil on all bolts and everything came apart easily.

Once the old sytem was out, I started the install of the new exhaust. I put the passenger side in first from the top and had to loosen the starter just a bit to get the header tab past it.

I then raised the car so that it was 20 inches off the ground and removed the engine ground strap and moved some wiring on the drivers side and slid the drivers side header in. This header was a bit trickier to get in but after some patient manouvering and a bit of swearing it popped in.

I then wrapped the o2 wires with heat shielding, wraped the clutch line and did my best to tuck all wiring as far away as possible from the exhaust. The rest of the system was easily installed and fit perfectly. I then torqued all header bolts and A.I.R. bolts to spec and re-installed all parts that were previously removed for the install like the alternator and coil packs.