C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Safest Jack Stands/Procedure to Use for High Ground Clearance?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2014, 01:11 PM
tommypenguin
Drifting

Received 377 Likes on 187 Posts
2022 C5 of the Year Finalist - Modified
2021 C5 of the Year Finalist - Modified
C5 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

Default Safest Jack Stands/Procedure to Use for High Ground Clearance?

After reading a horror story of a harbor freight 2 ton jack stand failing, I have developed a paranoia about what I'm using to protect my life when working underneath the car. Given I perform all service on the 3 cars my wife and I own and normally get under a car at least once every couple of months, I want to go safer with my setup and stands.

I have been using Craftsman 3 ton jack stands for a couple years that get up to 19" high. I chalk wheels, if only lifting up one end, and have rhino ramps I slide under the wheels and keep my floor jack in place for back up. Anything else I may want to be doing that could provide a safer setup when getting underneath the car?

A lift is not an option, at some point probably over winter I will drop the rear end of my car to R&R the TT bearing, while it's apart I will be replacing/upgrading other wear and tear parts. This will likely be a project I do over the course of 4-8 weekends if I had to guess. I need a set of jack stands that provide enough ground clearance I will be able to drop and roll the trans/diff/tt out and also that are high quality I can sleep easy at night that will hold the car up over that time.

Will 24" be enough ground clearance or do I need 30" that most 12 ton jack stands offer to drop the tranny/diff/tt assuming I use a low profile transmission jack that is 6" at it's lowest point?