C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Custom Grind Cam's over OTS

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2014, 09:23 AM
Виктор Tazarov
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Custom Grind Cam's over OTS

I'm pretty new to Corvette and I'm looking to get rid of the factory cam while I swap the Intake Manifold and CIA. Are OTS Cams "worth it" in the Corvette world or is it a better idea to just shell out the couple extra $$$ for a custom Grind?

The car is being build to be a POWERFUL but well mannered N/A street car that will see both Road Course time and the occasional drag, I sit here with ready to order 3.90's, FAST LSX/R w/102mm TB, and new CAI.

Thanks For the Input
Old 09-21-2014, 09:32 AM
NukeC5
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

There are many available grinds that are proven. Should save a little money by selecting one. A always say a cam in the 224 228 range is a good street/strip cam. This will keep up low end torque and raise hp to as much as stock heads can handle. Best all rounder IMO. Of course you should still change lifters, push rods, rockers, oil pump, timing chain, and the damper while doing this. Id do heads too. But not sure if it's in the budget.
Old 09-21-2014, 09:44 AM
Виктор Tazarov
6th Gear

Originally Posted by NukeC5
There are many available grinds that are proven. Should save a little money by selecting one. A always say a cam in the 224 228 range is a good street/strip cam. This will keep up low end torque and raise hp to as much as stock heads can handle. Best all rounder IMO. Of course you should still change lifters, push rods, rockers, oil pump, timing chain, and the damper while doing this. Id do heads too. But not sure if it's in the budget.