C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What Swaybars Did I Buy?

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2015, 01:31 AM
erufle
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default What Swaybars Did I Buy?

Got a great buy on a set of used sway bars taken from a salvaged 2004 C5 Commemorative a Edition (the Commemorative wasn't made in 2003?). I measure things for a living so I measured both bars in order to get the proper bushings. The front bar measured, accounting for error, between 28.45 and 28.66, consistent for a C5z51 front sway bar. But the rear measured between 25.27 and 25.50. I've written the seller. What sway bar would you order bushings for. They are in great shape perhaps they are aftermarket. They are most likely painted black because the bushing have worn through to the metal. You can find the diameters of various sway bars with a search of the forum. They look to be a match but either I need to re-measure in places beside where the bushings were or the back one is off of a C6Z51. Tell me I'm wrong and which size bushings I should buy.
Old 05-17-2015, 11:04 AM
QCVette
Le Mans Master

Received 626 Likes on 488 Posts

Your measurements match to the late C5 Z51 front and the C6 Z51 rear bars from what I have researched too.

Do they still have any of the tags that have part numbers on them? If so, they can be looked up to confirm. The C6 Z51 rear bar is 10339124.
Old 05-17-2015, 03:21 PM
b_rad!
Burning Brakes

Received 65 Likes on 33 Posts

Here is some info that will help.

* C5 Base Suspension: 23 mm-front / 19.1 mm-rear
* C5 Z51 (97-99): 25.4 mm-front / 21.7 mm-rear
* C5 Z51 (00-04): 28.6 mm-front / 23.6 mm-rear
* C5 Z06: 30.0 mm-front / 23.6 mm-rear
* C6 Z51: 31 mm-front / 25.4 mm (1")-rear
* C6 Z06: 31 mm-front / 28.8 mm-rear
* C5 Hotchkiss: 31.75 mm-front / 25.4 mm-rear
* C5/C6 Addco: 32 mm-front / 25.4 mm-rear