C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to the forum - Front spoiler springs set-up

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2016, 09:39 PM
Mark Furnish
Heel & Toe

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to the forum - Front spoiler springs set-up

Hello everybody! This is my first post ever though I've been using the C5 Tech Forum for info for several years. I have hard copies of most of the stickies and they have been great! I bought my first Vette in 1988-a '78 Silver Anniversary that was my daily driver for 13 years. I followed that with a 2000 coupe for a few years and then upgraded to a 2001 coupe when the CD player failed! (I know, I know!, but a guy wanted it-and it was still totally cherry-and I wanted a CD player that worked!) So. On to the 2001 coupe. I've had it for about 10 years now and I've got a laundry list of stuff to do. I'm going to start small. Does anybody have a source for the spring setup on the front air intake/spoiler center section? I'm on my third center section between the two C5s I've owned and it seems like a couple of bucks of spring and cable eventually fails and you need a new center section (unless you're lucky enough to find the old one wherever it fell off - which I've done more than once)! Failing a source for the springs, etc, does anyone have an alternate method of keeping the center section on the car? My younger brother is an engineer and he came up with some plastic inserts to hopefully keep the cables from failing quite so routinely. I'll include some photos when I get some better equipment to upload with. Other issues I'm dealing with: a pretty wicked oil leak (front of the motor) that is going to the local Vette dealer in a couple of weeks; a front seat that won't move back and forth (doesn't bother me as far as driving position goes but I need to remove the seat for new covers and