C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY third brake light flasher.

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2016, 09:20 PM
digi2t
Instructor

Received 139 Likes on 39 Posts
Default DIY third brake light flasher.

Hi all! New 2004 C5 owner, second post.

We've had the Vette for about a month now, and I quickly noticed that often times some folks would come zooming up behind me, and brake at the last minute. Either they're not seeing the back end of the Vette (it's matte black), or it's too low. Or maybe both. Anyway, I've been building electric guitar effects for several years now, so I decided that a DIY third brake light flasher was in order. A quick Google search, I found this article;

http://www.sentex.ca/~mec1995/circ/motflash.html

It fits the bill, flashing on the initial brake application, and then going steady (road rage avoidance measure). As an added bonus, there are two trimmers incorporated in the circuit; one to set the number of flashes, and the other to set the speed of the flashes.

Anyway, for those that are handy with a soldering iron, it's a fun afternoon project. The article offers an etching layout, for those that can etch their own boards. Personally, I'm a big vero (aka strip board) freak, so I did a vero layout for it. I used an aluminium Hammond 1590B enclosure to house everything, but a smaller plastic box will do as well. Here's the layout;

And, some pics of the (almost) finished product. I'm still waiting on the output connector that connects to the light.

The leads are about 8" long, which will allow me to velcro the enclosure to the forward bulkhead behind the bumper, and still easily plug into the light. The leads are epoxied on the inside of the enclosure, and hot glue prevents vibration from shaking/breaking anything loose.