Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[Z06] Radar detector in Germany?

Old 06-20-2006, 06:26 PM
Hercdriver
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Radar detector in Germany?

Hey all, I have a question. Do you all think it is worth having a radar detector overseas? If I do take it with me, do I have to get anything upgraded? I have a Valentine One. Thanks in advance!
Old 06-21-2006, 03:51 AM
LT4 Rocker
Intermediate

Default Radar Detector

Radar detectors not nearly as big here as in the USA. I've been pushing the limits here for 10 years and never felt the need. First, The speed limits and traffic are high enough that you stay under the limit most of the time. Second, nearly all speed control is done with cameras and their locations are both published on the internet and predictable. Third, There are many opportunites to test your personal limits on parts of the Autobahn that still have no speed limit. This gets the need for speed out of my system regularly.

Final note, the German Police regularly patrol the Autobahn in unmarked cars and will get you without the use of radar. If they get you significantly above the posted speed, be prepared for huge fines and be ready to walk for several months.

www.mollygunner.com
Old 06-21-2006, 08:41 AM
Hercdriver
Instructor

Thank you so much for the info! Do you suggest that I sell or trade my V1 for something on the forum? Does anyone in Germany that you know of have High Flow Cats? Are they allowed there? Thanks again!
Old 06-21-2006, 08:54 AM
Ranger
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts

Might want to shoot an email to Valentine for their insights on the target environment in Europe. They sell internationally and have a loyal following there too.

Ranger
Old 06-21-2006, 10:03 AM
chiefDave
Melting Slicks
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
St. Jude Donor '05-'06

Originally Posted by LT4 Rocker