Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[Z06] Spark Plug Torque Specs are 11 foot pounds

Old 10-23-2009, 07:05 PM
NatB
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Spark Plug Torque Specs are 11 foot pounds

I was perusing thru Volume 2 of my GM Service Manuals (# 6-1031) and confirmed the proper torque for installing new spark plugs 11 Lb. Ft.

Guys that ain't much - for me it's finger tight.

Just thoughts I'd pass this along - hopefully to alert overzealous backyard mechanics. The heads are aluminum.
The following users liked this post:
Evan Sanza (01-02-2022)
Old 10-23-2009, 07:25 PM
zulatr
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

I'm a long time Saab mechanic and have been dealing with aluminum heads for over 30 years.

Yes, the correct torque doesn't feel like enough. Until you develop a feel you should use a torque wrench - and I believe in a small dap of well placed anti-sieze compound....
Old 10-24-2009, 12:45 AM
TheDingo
Melting Slicks

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

^ +1, well said.

Thanks for the info, OP!
Old 10-25-2009, 09:06 PM
tlc0706
Safety Car
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08-'09-'10-'11

This place is a wealth of info......everybody is supposed to know that, right? Probably not! Good post, thanks.......
Old 10-25-2009, 10:19 PM
ZeeOSix
Le Mans Master

Received 159 Likes on 93 Posts

Originally Posted by NatB
I was perusing thru Volume 2 of my GM Service Manuals (# 6-1031) and confirmed the proper torque for installing new spark plugs 11 Lb. Ft.

Guys that ain't much - for me it's finger tight.
I'll give you a million dollars if you can torque a spark plug to 11 ft-lbs with your fingers. A human might be lucky to reach 1 ft-lb by hand.

Just thoughts I'd pass this along - hopefully to alert overzealous backyard mechanics. The heads are aluminum.
I always use a torque wrench and some anti-seize when working with spark plugs.
Old 10-25-2009, 10:39 PM
NatB
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by ZeeOSix