Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

[Z06] Anyone with legal window tint in VA? Pics?

Old 03-12-2010, 12:20 AM
taegee2
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Anyone with legal window tint in VA? Pics?

I'm thinking about tinting my '03 black Z06. Not too concerned about getting it dark but rather trying to keep it a little cooler in the summer. I live in Northern VA and the VA tint law is 50% front sides and 35% rear sides and rear (with a minus 7% leeway...discrepancies in tinting, tint meter being off, etc... so 43% and 28% max)...I used to be a local cop years ago and didn't really cared about tints unless I couldn't see inside (limo tints)...even then, they were usually fix it ticketes anyway with no points assessed.

Had VA legal tint when I had a black 91 Honda Prelude many, many years ago. It wasn't too dark but still noticeable difference compared to untinted stock windows.

I went to LA Tint in Woodbridge, VA and after talking with the manager there for a while, he offered to tint the Z06 for $250 cash for their best tint (the ceramic base tint with lifetime warranty aginst color changing, peeling, bubbles, etc,)...regularly $329.00. He said to give him a call when ready and stop by. Had dealings with LA Tint in Alexandria in the past with no issues (found out most are independently owned).

Has anyone had dealings with LA Tint in Woodbridge? The guy suggest maybe going 35% all around...told him I didn't need the hassle with local or state PD (even though I could probably badge my way out and knew some of them). Thinking about staying VA legal (the black interior will make the tint look a little darker also).

Anyone with pics of legal tints in VA?
Any suggestions or comments?
Old 03-12-2010, 12:33 AM
taegee2
Instructor

How about tinting only the sides and leaving the rear untinted? In this case I would probably go with 35%.