Sponsored by:

[Z06] Brake pads, hawk hps?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2011, 07:27 AM
Swayse
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake pads, hawk hps?

All the research I've done and searching, seems to point me to hawk hps brake pads, but I swore I'd never buy another hawk brake pad. I put them on my hot rod diesel, 11.86 @ 114.1, along with slotted rotors, and I thought they were ok, until one of them separated. Since I was in a bind, I went to Napa and bought the cheapest brake pad they had to get me by until I could get another set of Hawk pads. I really liked those cheap pads, they worked well, and lasted 20,000 miles. Hauling that truck down at the end of the drag strip wasn't the easiest on brakes.

I'm a really easy driver, until I'm not, so ceramics are out of the question. I'm not sure what the car has on it now, I think stock pads, but I've noticed some fade when playing around, but it's not too bad. I'd rather deal with dust and noise, and still be able to haul my car down from 150 safely. I had some sort of carbon brake pads on a trans am, they needed a little heat to work, I hate that, panic stops suck like that. I like pads with initial bite, but no fade.

My rotors need to be replaced, they are pretty wore, I'm thinking Napa Ultra premium blanks.
Old 01-27-2011, 10:38 AM
Adam@Amp'dAutosport.com
Supporting Vendor

Received 492 Likes on 419 Posts
St. Jude Donor '11,'13

How about this pad