Sponsored by:

[Z06] $12,995 a good price?

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2013, 08:34 PM
storxusmc
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default $12,995 a good price?

I am new to the C5 world and i went and looked at a silver 2002 Z06 today at local nissan dealership they took in on a trade. It has 88k on the clock.. interior is ok.. for 11 year old car.. the paint was really clean.. no scratches but the rock chips on the front. The drivers headlight didnt want to raise up. and the clutch pedal was really squishy compared to other vettes i test drove. Almost like it wanted to stay on the floor when lifting up.. was slow to respond..
Old 10-25-2013, 09:19 PM
RC000E
Le Mans Master

Received 346 Likes on 208 Posts

Needs a clutch, or at minimum a fluid change...which means you have to access the clutch at least...unless there is a remote bleeder. Likely I'd bet it needs a clutch. Plan on paying out for that to be done...it's a 15hr job, plus the clutch isn't Civic cheap...

13g's is real cheap for that mileage...so I'd be cautious...especially since it's at a dealer. A dealer wouldn't sell that car for 13 when it books in the 20's unless they knew something. Sounds like some possible issues, but not enough that I wouldn't look over it and consider it. All I know is, if the dealer is asking 13k, then that means a person would typically sell it for 10k. What Z06 goes for 10k? Sounds too good to be true. Go over it with a FINE TOOTH COMB...
Old 10-25-2013, 09:27 PM
storxusmc
Instructor

hmm.. there are 3 C5 z06 vettes in my area for 16k and under with less than 100k miles. The dealership told me that C5/C6 vettes have dropped in value due to the market being flooded with the ones being traded in from the release of the C7. He told me November 1st there sales manager said C6 vettes are dropping 5-7k across the board in value....