Sponsored by:

[Z06] What to look for?

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2016, 06:19 PM
DTA4
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default What to look for?

Going to look at 2003 z06 with 11k miles. Any suggestions on what i should be on the lookout for? By no means I'm a mechanic but will be bringing my dad to have an extra set of eyes and he has a 98 c5
Old 02-25-2016, 10:35 PM
grantv
Le Mans Master

Received 535 Likes on 491 Posts

Everything rubber. Miles that low often indicate a car that has been stored a lot of its life.
Check the accident history, year on the tires, belts, paint (in case it was ever stored outdoor), oil change records (should be once a year IMO, but many don't retain all those bills)... it should be fine with miles that low.
Old 02-25-2016, 10:54 PM
C5Dobie
Drifting

Received 155 Likes on 113 Posts

Originally Posted by grantv
Everything rubber. Miles that low often indicate a car that has been stored a lot of its life.
Check the accident history, year on the tires, belts, paint (in case it was ever stored outdoor), oil change records (should be once a year IMO, but many don't retain all those bills)... it should be fine with miles that low.
This is good advice. I bought an 03 Z 12,900 miles on it bone stock a little over 2 years ago. You can probably find some of my build/mod threads- but anyhow car was a 1 owner but the guy traded it @ a used vette dealer for a C6 vert. Owner lived a block from the ocean. When car wasn't sitting in front of his house in the crescent driveways it was stored in an unisunulated garage- end result? Well good points were paint & interior that were 8.5-9/10, an engine that had the oil change once a year when put into storage, clean car fax no accidents, no oil leaks, engine dynoed very strong even stock.