C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Penalties for Non-Premium Gas

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2006, 02:28 PM
LDB
Drifting

Received 1,072 Likes on 434 Posts

Default Penalties for Non-Premium Gas

With high gas prices, there have been lots of octane questions lately. Yes, you can use regular or mid grade without grave risk to your engine, but…… This post summarizes the “buts”. For those who haven’t seen my posts, I’m an oil company engineer with one of the majors, but I keep my brand out of it. The Forum is a good place to share knowledge, so I’m simply trying to share where I know the facts.

First, understand how your engine compensates. There is a knock sensor which detects when your engine starts knocking. It can eliminate knock by retarding the spark. So when you use regular or mid grade, your engine knocks momentarily, the sensor senses the knock, and it eliminates the knock by retarding the spark, probably before you even notice that it’s knocking. Do not kid yourself into thinking nothing has happened. Trust me on this. If you are running regular or mid grade, your spark is running retarded.