C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

NO FOBS DETECTED after FOB reprogramming

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2007, 03:42 PM
nealmeadows
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NO FOBS DETECTED after FOB reprogramming

Background Info: I am a newbie to this forum. I live in Virginia, my 2005 Vette was purchased from Corvette Palace in Texas. The car is a 6-speed and came with only 1 FOB, a #2 FOB. This FOB worked fine and the car drives wonderfully, but, I was not comfortable having only 1 FOB. Soooooooooooo

I followed the FOB erase/reprogram procedure as listed below(I copied it from a Corvette Forum website) to reprogram a newly purchased #1 FOB.

"" Check your manual, and follow the longer procedure. You need to erase all FOBs from memory, then re-learn your existing FOB as well as the new one. What the manual does not tell you is that you need to have all working FOBs away from the vicinity of the car when initially programming. If the car does not detect any existing FOBs, it will erase all know FOBs, and then ask you to program FOB #1. This is the only way to train a new FOB to the #1 or #2 slots.

Here's the procedure from the 05 owner manual. Couple of things start the car and shut down before putting it into learn mode and make sure all know/recognized fobs are out of sensing range then follow the procedure, It will take three 10 minute cycles for it to clear the known FOBs before programing FOB #1 see step #15 wait for second beep and for the DIC to display ready for fob #2 see step #16 continue procedure until all fob are programmed and recognized.

From the 2005 owner manual:

United States owners are permitted to match
a new transmitter to their vehicle when a recognized
transmitter is not available. The procedure will require
three ten minutes cycles to complete the matching
process. Do the following: