C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Keep missing 3rd (2008, st C6)

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2010, 05:56 PM
Ingram
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Keep missing 3rd (2008, st C6)

I just picked up my car last week so I haven't really had much time with it, but I've found when I'm driving it aggressively I miss 3rd 9 times out of 10.

I've been driving a standard vehicle for over 15 years and have NEVER had this problem. It just blocks me from getting into gear.

Am I missing anything here? Is this common? Tips/Tricks?

-Ingram
Old 03-23-2010, 06:00 PM
jackcasa
Drifting
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well, judging by your avatar photo it ain't 'cause you're a 90 lb. weakling (assuming that's you). I've never heard of this problem with a C6 M6.
Old 03-23-2010, 06:02 PM
wolfdogs
Le Mans Master

Location: Stafford VA, home of our wolf den. No house break ins to date.
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I've never missed third one time in mine... and i've been driving 6 speeds, all gm, since i sold my last bought brand new 4 speed, ...........LOL...

seriously, this shift pattern i find much better than my 05 GTO, and way better than my 97 slp Comp T/A, both 6 speeds..... I think you may subconsciously be pulling slightly towards your self when you throw the shifter, its a slight right going up.

Old 03-23-2010, 06:19 PM
calmtgguy
Le Mans Master

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Instead of grabbing the ****, just put your palm on top of it, and try that, just up, and to the right of 1st.
Old 03-23-2010, 06:21 PM
bps999
Pro

I have not had any trouble missing 3rd in my vette, but I did have that problem in a Viper I drove once. I played around with my shifting style, and after a while the problem seemed to go away. Hopefully it will go away for you too...