C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Got to live the dream for a week (long post)

Old 10-06-2010, 09:16 PM
Kozzzz
Racer

Received 8 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Got to live the dream for a week (long post)

This is a long read, but I've at least included some pics for you guys...

I've been a Corvette nut since I was ~10 years old. It's remained my favorite car since then. When I was in college, I made pretty much my only real "life goal" to this day: own a Corvette before I'm 30. Mainly because around here in Metro Detroit, most Corvette owners seem to be older guys who just putter around in them on the weekends or keep them in the garage all year. If/when I get a 'Vette I intend to daily drive it for 3 seasons and have fun with it. I'm also way too impatient to wait until I have grey hair before I buy one

Anyway, I graduated college in '08 and was hired into GM Powertrain working at the GM Proving Grounds . I got a job as an engineer in the emission & fuel economy lab. During college I had pictured getting a position where I'd be working with the cars a lot; something like engine calibration or ride & handling development. Working in the lab is a different experience, as I work with test site equipment and not directly with the vehicles. It's interesting and worthwhile work, but not something that an auto enthusiast strives to get into.