C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Battery/ Battery Charger Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2010, 03:53 PM
Gearhead Jim
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,051 Likes on 1,362 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13

Default Battery/ Battery Charger Question

My old Sears "Automatic 'Sensor" Battery Charger" has a switch to select Conventional or Maintenance Free battery type.
The manual says ""Maintenance free batteries require higher voltage to effect full charge."

Really?

FWIW, I've been using it for 25 years, no problems.
It goes into a "maintainer" mode when the battery is fully charged- charge drops to 0 for a while until battery bleeds off, then it goes back to low charge rate for a short time.
Old 11-21-2010, 04:16 PM
C7Joy
Race Director

Received 176 Likes on 157 Posts

Don't know the answer but no reason to change what has worked for you!
Old 11-21-2010, 04:24 PM
mack morrow jr
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Maintenance free and deep cycle marine type batteries do require more power to charge which is why you usually have different settings for the different type batteries you charge. Regardless of whether you have the various settings even a manual setting will charge but take a longer time. I have a Harley motorcycle 1.25 mv plugged up to the Vette right now. I usually use my 10 AMP to bring it up to full charge which takes about an hour. The 1.5mv would take about 6-8 hours to do the same thing.

Last edited by mack morrow jr; 11-21-2010 at 04:28 PM.
Old 11-21-2010, 05:29 PM
saplumr
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,251 Likes on 895 Posts

I really don't know but it's possible a 25 year old charger is not up the current battery technology. My large charger has switches for 6v -12v-regular automatic - deep cycle automatic - 2amp -15amp - 150amp. For years I used it as a trickle charger but lost confidence in it and now use a Battery Tender.