C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with oil smell after oil changes

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2012, 08:26 AM
Venomized03
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Help with oil smell after oil changes

OK guys/gals... I am a Asst Service Manager for a big GM dealer in Florida. I have a customer who has been bringing in his 2009 Corvette since it was new. Now has 16k miles. Since the day he bought the car, he has been getting a oil smell only when coming to a stop after driving for a few minutes. Obviously the first few times he brought the vehicle in, we suspected maybe some oil was spilled when changing the oil. After we carefully changed the oil a few times, we now know it has nothing to do with oil spill. After we change the oil, the smell is extremely strong at stop lights. It stays there for a good 2k miles then slowly gets better.

I was not asked to put up a thread, but since I am on this website daily, I figured "what the heck" I might as well try to help GM and my customer out alittle bit. Has anyone had this problem, or heard of this problem? I did a search and couldnt find anything that sounded like my these symptoms...

THANKS IN ADVANCE

JASON
Old 04-05-2012, 09:33 AM
b4i4getit
Le Mans Master

Received 285 Likes on 193 Posts

Not enough information here. Does this car have the dry sump ?
Old 04-05-2012, 10:13 AM
EyeMaster
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

I've always had an oil smell after I change the oil in any car because I spill here and there. I don't know how to do one without spilling any oil.

Is it really strong? Maybe try washing the engine bay?
Old 04-05-2012, 10:22 AM
Venomized03
Burning Brakes

sorry, no sump
Old 04-05-2012, 10:28 AM
Venomized03
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by EyeMaster