C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question regarding resale value of Grand Sport / used Z06 (two owners)

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2012, 12:30 PM
Adam_W
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Question regarding resale value of Grand Sport / used Z06 (two owners)

First post on this forum, whoo-hoo!

I need advice.

I think I want a corvette GS or Z06, but "which corvette" is not my question here, I know how those threads go.

I'm a physician - in practice for a few years - who has spent his whole adult life working long hours and delaying gratification.

I still drive a 2001 Honda that my parents gifted me back in medical school, and I don't know how to drive stick and need to learn. I need to learn how to drive stick so that I can test drive cars and confirm my preferences - Z06 vs. GS vs. Mustang Boss vs. Cayman S etc.

Apparently, it's not easy to rent/lease a car with manual transmission for 3-6 months where I can learn how to drive stick and maybe take one or two high performance courses. I've looked into it.

I've been advised to buy a 2-3 year old used car (e.g. Miata or S2000) in good condition, spend my 6 months learning to drive on it, and then sell it for (hopefully) a similar amount to what I purchased it for.

This is my current plan, i.e. spend 15-20K on a nice Miata.