C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Performance Driving observations/experience

Old 04-14-2013, 06:41 PM
rwillitt
Instructor

Received 33 Likes on 23 Posts

Default Performance Driving observations/experience

Ok, for those other vette owners that would love to drive their cars at speed without fear of speed traps, pedestrians, animals, pot holes etc., I decided to share my experiences after my third track day with my C6. 3 ½ years ago I got my 3rd corvette, an 2007 artic white base coupe, 6 speed. I'd always wanted to drive on race tracks but never really looked for the opportunity, so I joined SCCA after I'd read about the PDX program our region does and 1 year ago this month, April, I did my first track day.

The car was totally stock, no mods at all and I was a total rookie and never done any real performance driving. Driving in these events, is 4, 20 minute sessions on a short, 1.2 mile road course in the infield at Daytona. I was pretty awful but the SCCA instructors are patient and helpful and by the 3rd session I was running pretty well and not having to let too many pass me. Using the totally stock base car, my observations were the brakes faded badly after a few laps and the body lean in the turns was more pronounced that I thought a Corvette should do. It was a blast but I wanted better!

Before my next try, upgrades! Slotted rotors, stainless steel brake lines, Hawk HPS pads (I know, they say not for track use of any kind, keep reading), JOC shocks and sway bars. On the street, definitely a firmer ride and firmer brake pedel.