C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Traction control warning

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2013, 11:17 PM
achampagne
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default Traction control warning

I am still learning on all the features of my new toy (2011 1LT C6) and now that it's stored for the winter I was left with a unanswered question.

Since I drove it a few miles on fairly cool conditions (no rain or snow don't worry ) I could feel that the tires where not as responsive and that I they seem to loose traction when cornering. Is there a light that indicates that traction control is "kicking in" like many other cars I have driven ? It looks like the TC settings are very permissive .. either that or I have an issue with my TC system and need to have it checked.

Thanks !

AC
Old 12-04-2013, 11:25 PM
Patsgarage
Team Owner

Received 1,596 Likes on 1,074 Posts

If the rear gets squirly you should get a "traction active" message on the DIC. The same light that goes on when you turn off the traction control should also illuminate.
Old 12-04-2013, 11:32 PM
achampagne
Instructor

Originally Posted by Patsgarage
If the rear gets squirly you should get a "traction active" message on the DIC. The same light that goes on when you turn off the traction control should also illuminate.
Humm I guess I will have to get this checked since I tried a hard starts and was able to spin the tires (TC in normal active mode) and the DIC and/or the light never indicated anything !!!!

Anybody else encountered this ? Since I bought this car with minimal information aside from visual inspection and road test, is it possible that prior mods or tunes caused this ? Is there a way to know for sure that the care has not beed tuned or reprogrammed aside from the dealer check ?

Thanks

Last edited by achampagne; 12-05-2013 at 12:31 AM.
Old 12-05-2013, 12:50 AM
Patsgarage
Team Owner

Received 1,596 Likes on 1,074 Posts