C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Vette trickle charger

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2014, 08:02 PM
tmd937
Instructor

Received 27 Likes on 15 Posts

Default Vette trickle charger

Is it more effective to plug the trickle charger in the console plug or the cigarette plug . Or does it matter .
Old 02-12-2014, 08:19 PM
red4twenty7
Pro

Received 43 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by tmd937
Is it more effective to plug the trickle charger in the console plug or the cigarette plug . Or does it matter .
I have been using into the cigarette lighter for the last 3 months in the cold northern Minnesota and it works great, keeps it fully charged, I was skeptical in the beginning, but it works great on my 427 and is actually better since my battery is in the trunk.
Old 02-12-2014, 08:19 PM
FlyerVette
Melting Slicks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Far as I know doesn't make a difference. For what its worth I always plug mine into the console.
Old 02-12-2014, 08:22 PM
Jim Barker
Burning Brakes

Received 60 Likes on 45 Posts

Make sure the one you use is hot all the time, not controlled by ignition switch/ start button
Old 02-12-2014, 08:46 PM
Dano523
Race Director

Received 3,020 Likes on 2,175 Posts

Both of lighter plug in the ash tray, and the outlet in the center lid are constant hots, so either one will work fine.

Myself, since I like to keep the windows closed (let them auto index closed when you shut the doors), installed a plug under the hood for the Ctek at the battery, and plug in there instead (just pop the hood and leave it cracked open). This keeps the charger up and away (mounted on the wall) instead of being in the car or laying on the ground instead, and since the hood is cracked open, it reminds me that I have to unplug the tender before I get in and drive out of the garage.