C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 or C7 vert or Mustang GT convertible

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2016, 01:58 PM
SlideRuyle
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C6 or C7 vert or Mustang GT convertible

Long story as short as possible, back in 2013 I was looking for a sports car. Both kids were out of college and the weddings were paid for. My long list was narrowed down to a used C6 corvette convertible or a used Boxster S. I ended up buying the Boxster as it seemed to be easier to drive on a daily basis because the greater ground clearance. I sold the car a few months back and am back in the market and am considering a used C6 or a used C7 or a Mustang gt convertible or something else if you guys point out a car that should be on my list. Likely I will not be buying till the fall. I am an engineer and it takes that long to make a buying decision and I don't think a used C7 will be in my price range till then. I need to tell you something about my experience with the Boxster (good and bad) so you know where I am coming from. When I drove it with the top down I absolutely loved the car. None of its short comings came out. With the top up it can be claustrophobic. You really have to trust your side mirrors because of the huge blind spots. The clutch is a bit stiff. You don't notice till you get stuck in traffic. I want the car as a daily driver but do have a third car, my wife's hand me down CRV that I can drive in bad weather. I won't be putting the new car on the track either. That was part of my plan with the Boxster. I made myself motion sick when going through race training for an Autocross so after one event I never entered another one. The seats on the Boxster held me in firmly when I wanted to take a curvy entrance or exit ramp at way over legal speed but I could not just sit back for a relaxed ride for a longer trip. I am not a big guy at 6'1'' and 185 lbs but real lo