C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stealership Strikes Again

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2016, 11:14 PM
sonic1519
Instructor

Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Stealership Strikes Again

I'm not a mechanic and not very good at working on my vette so i have to bring it in to the dealer when something needs fixed. so the check engine light comes on so i go by Advanced Auto Parts and they are kind enough to run a code on it. turns at to be some kind of solenoid emissions part. so i take it by the dealer to let them know about it.

and the service guy goes i know what part that is and it will be around 300 dollars. and i go WHAT NO WAY... he say's let me call parts, he does and they have the part and it's 29.00. then he gets that oh crap i'm busted look on his face and tells me it will be 129.00. 100.00 labor to install a part that will take maybe 20 minutes. i know the game still and they wonder why they get a bad rap sometimes. sorry to vent.....
Old 02-26-2016, 11:34 PM
919cw313
Le Mans Master

Received 2,682 Likes on 1,408 Posts
2018 C6 of Year Finalist

A few things: there are other places to service cars other than dealers. You can find all sorts of information like prices and install times with Google. I'm hoping they diagnose the problem and verify the fix, which would account for the $100 labor, regardless, they go by book time so how long you think it will take is irrelevant.
Old 02-26-2016, 11:34 PM
okie08vette
Le Mans Master

Received 52 Likes on 41 Posts

How do you know it will only take 20 minutes to replace the part? What part exactly is it?
Old 02-26-2016, 11:37 PM
jrose7004
Team Owner

Received 1,673 Likes on 1,296 Posts
C6 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

There are plenty of honest auto repair garages around that are cheaper than dealers that can work on your car.
Old 02-26-2016, 11:48 PM
v26278
Melting Slicks

Received 145 Likes on 92 Posts