C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Choice between these Tires

Old 09-23-2016, 01:55 PM
sjgrimsley
Advanced

Received 17 Likes on 9 Posts

My experience between the two brands in question is from a Mercedes dealership where I used to be a tech. The Conti's wear, ride, grip, and last better than the Hankooks.
My $.02. YMMV
Old 09-23-2016, 04:36 PM
MarkB3
Instructor

Received 29 Likes on 15 Posts

Originally Posted by Not So Fast
Wait, what, you got the tires, taxes, mounted and balanced, TPMS rebuilt, AND alignment for $1015-$100 for a total of $915,
WOW, that is one hell of a deal
I ordered them today from Discount Tire and with the items mentioned plus road force balanced, they are at $1059 (then the $100 rebate) BUT NO ALIGNMENT That's like another $100 last time I checked so you did good REAL GOOD
NSF
I didn't do TPMS sensors. And if I had it to do over again I would not have had this company do alignment either. I found an indie shop that specializes in BMW's and Mercedes and are familiar with vettes. They have a Hunter alignment system and they do road force balancing. Also wheel straightening. With the roads in Maine being the third world roads that they are, wheel straightening and alignment/road force balancing are annual events.

When I put the Hankooks on in May, I had a slight vibration at 85 and up. (The GY's I replaced vibrated at 55+) Road force balancing and wheel straightening cured it completely, at least to 125.
The following users liked this post:
Not So Fast (09-23-2016)
Old 09-24-2016, 11:46 AM
Red08
Le Mans Master

Received 1,439 Likes on 778 Posts

Originally Posted by windyC6
Yes it would be interesting to do a "BLIND" tire test where people got in and drove their car with several different make of tires on it and then quiz them on if they could tell the difference and pick what tire was what.....
That would certainly remove the bias factor
Old 09-24-2016, 02:29 PM