C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Replacement Battery Question

Old 03-20-2017, 07:42 PM
rn53982
Advanced

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Replacement Battery Question

Good evening all and please excuse the ignorance of my question, as I am new to the C6 ownership world.

Just bought my 2009 about 5 weeks ago and have only got to drive it a few times due to crappy weather. Went out this weekend to find that the battery is dead, which after reading up I see is a major issue with these vehicles not being driven.

From the records of the car, it looks like the battery is the original OEM AC Delco that came installed in the car, so I plan to replace with a new battery and purchase a CTek 3300 Tender unit.

My question, does it really matter if I replace the battery with the same OEM AC Delco, or is any battery fine as long as it meets the same specs? Likely a silly a question and I would not give it a second thought on the daily driver sedan, but I thought it was worth asking. Calling around to AutoZone, O'Rileys, Advance, and Napa and none carry the AC Delco battery, so I am guessing I would have to purchase from the dealer, which I don't mind if it is recommended.

Thanks in advance and my apologies for the "noob" question.
Old 03-20-2017, 07:56 PM
TorchRedFred
Le Mans Master

Received 1,636 Likes on 1,121 Posts

You can use any brand battery. I went with a Die-Hard battery for my 2012 GS. Just check in the manufacturer's booklet for which specific battery you need or ask a someone that works there to look it up. Also you can check any battery manufacturer's website for which exact model is specific to your car.
Old 03-20-2017, 07:59 PM
EVRose
Race Director

Received 772 Likes on 612 Posts

Except for Optimas they are all basically the same and made by the same company. I've had a Walmart battery for the past 3 years with a tender always attached and it's been fine.