C6 Scan & Tune Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, and Fuel Management for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

STFT imbalance after heads and cam in a 08 Z06

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2015, 05:27 PM
zulatr
Melting Slicks

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Default STFT imbalance after heads and cam in a 08 Z06

Back ground:
2008 Z06, pretty pampered before I got it. < 20,000 miles. I did the valve guides as a preventative, and “while I was in there” I did a cam as recommended by Pat G., the specs are below. I’ve done a couple of LS engine teardown before, but I am in no means an expert. Stock manifolds, down pipes, O2 sensors and cats. Only other non-stock part is a vararam.

The car started right up after the teardown, no issues. I bought a tune package from Pat G. along with HPTuner Pro. I have zero experience with tuning.

I sent my first log file to Pat, with comments that the idle was way more cammy than I expected, and that under 1700 under light load, cruising conditions, the car would sometimes have a mild buck, but under 1400 I pretty much had to shift down.

He looked at my log file (which I don’t know how to share here), and said I have a 5% - 7% STFT imbalance in the low load and idle parts of the log. Easy to see, I understand what he’s looking at. Note he disables the LTFT to help him with his remote tuning. He pretty much said fix what's wrong, and he'll then work on the tune. The only thing he offered was grounds or a bad plug or wire.

So I set off to make single changes in the car, read the logs after each change, hoping that something would turn up. To date, this is what I've done:

-With the help of Bill Dearborn chased down all the engine grounds and confirmed them good.
-Replaced the original plugs with some NGK Pat recommended
-Swapped the plug wires from left to right
-Swapped the injectors from left to right
-Removed the intake and replaced the intake manifold gaskets concerned I might have a leak - no change