C6 Scan & Tune Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, and Fuel Management for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

P0300 after top end run e force '06 LS7

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2015, 10:16 AM
speedz06
Drifting

Received 50 Likes on 40 Posts

Default P0300 after top end run e force '06 LS7

Not looking good.
After (during) WOT run to the middle of 5th gear yesterday there was stumble then the engine light. Shifted at 4K rpm in third since it was cold out and on a curve, shifted out of 4th at close to but well under redline then WOT in fifth till about 5000 RPM. Felt a little stumble but it went away quickly so I stayed in it....
Nothing out of the ordinary...until...

Check engine, rough running, oil stench.

The tech 2 that I am just beginning to learn to use has clearly shown me repeated misfire in cylinder number 5.

I do have a good amount of formal tech training and hands on but old school stuff. Can understand anything if it is explained so if anyone has some advice please fill me in. I do also have factory service manuals.
Seems I am rusty for sure.

There are a few misfires in history but not now (maybe between 20 to 40 times) on neighboring cylinders 3 and 7 but since then those are running and no longer misfiring. Maybe these cylinders on that bank became lean during my run.

The motor is quiet and seems smooth (no knocks or rattles) except for running on 7cyls.

Questions:

* Wonder why I have a random misfire code P0300 instead of the computer identifying cylinder number 5? The scanner clearly shows number 5 has like 40K misfires and continues to do so.

This makes me worry that it is mechanical, not electrical like a plug or wire. Maybe the computer cant identify low compression in one particular cylinder. But then how does it know that #5 is missing? I suppose that crank speed changes at that point each rpm?