C6 Scan & Tune Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, and Fuel Management for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

GM Factory Navigation

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2016, 10:22 AM
TRINIC5
Drifting

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

Default GM Factory Navigation

I installed a factory Navigation from another corvette, when it was first installed it worked fine but after a few hours I went back to the car and its now saying "Anti-Theft lock Activated" . Can anyone help me with this please.

I spoke to the seller and he told me I have to get my vin # activated into the stereo, spoke to GM Service dept. and it seem as though the service man who answered the call has no experience about this problem and is telling me it don't always work.

I was told that all I need to do was pull out the code from the stereo and get the passcode from GM for that stereo but I have no experience with this stuff and also told I would need a tech 1 or 2 tool to get it done.

Anyone who can assist with their experience will be appreciated.
Old 07-25-2016, 11:42 AM
schpenxel
Race Director

Received 1,194 Likes on 1,053 Posts
St. Jude Donor '15

On my GM truck I had to send the nav unit off to someone that reset it. It basically "marries" to whatever VIN # vehicle it is initially installed it, but that can be reset. GM can do it as well, but most of the techs aren't experienced with it. At least on mine there was no "code" like is commonly found on older vehicles.

I'll try to find some more info on it for C6's. I'm assuming it's similar between these and similar year trucks but I should say I'm not 100% sure of that.

Last edited by schpenxel; 07-25-2016 at 11:42 AM.
The following users liked this post:
TRINIC5 (07-29-2016)
Old 07-27-2016, 07:50 PM
jim2092
Drifting

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 298 Likes on 165 Posts
St. Jude Donor '08

Can't the TEC II change the vin.
Old 07-28-2016, 09:29 PM
Dcasole
Le Mans Master

Received 2,241 Likes on 1,634 Posts