C6 Scan & Tune Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, and Fuel Management for the Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Source for understanding 2008 ECM?

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2017, 08:33 AM
Midnight08
Racer

Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
Default Source for understanding 2008 ECM?

I am relatively new to Corvettes and especially new to tuning on one.

From another part of the forum, I saw a book mentioned that was just on the C6 and I thought it might help me out. In fact, it was a little helpful, but was covering the launch of the C6, in comparison to previous cars, so only covering 2005.

I have three other books that cover the Corvette history and within each generation a bit of info on what was changed year by year. That helped me to decide on a 2008 when it was my turn to get one.

Fast forward to the present. I have a 2008 M6 base coupe with a couple of simple mods on it and a brand spanking new Diablosport i2030 and will be working with Lewis Eaton to get things dialed in.

I am trying to get a handle on the ECM part of the computer system in the car. There are so many sensors and small computers all over this car, reading data and adapting on the fly and I am just trying to understand it. I'm trying to get a handle on how many different parameters the ECM changes and how I can work with the car to maximize its capability.

I know there are some really knowledgeable people in the forum and I can't get a direct download of their knowledge, but am trying to see what I can be pointed to, to start to develop some of that for me, as I seek to understand and explore my own car. And, FYI, my interests are more road coarse/general performance oriented, compared to 1/4 mile performance.

Will appreciate any suggestions you can offer. I have already learned so much from people here!!