Go Back   Corvette Forum > C6 Corvette, 2005 - 2013 > C6 Tech/Performance
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read FAQ Vendor Directory
Search
C6 Tech/Performance
LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace Sponsored by
21st Century Muscle Cars

Welcome to Corvetteforum.com!
Welcome to Corvetteforum.com.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join Corvetteforum.com today!


Corvette Store
 
 
C7 Parts & Accessories
C6 Parts & Accessories
C5 Parts & Accessories
C4 Parts & Accessories
C3 Parts & Accessories
C2 Parts & Accessories
C1 Parts & Accessories
Wheels & Tires
Sponsored Ads
 
 
Vendor Directory
  
Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-23-2010, 07:12 PM   #1
michc63563
Junior Member
 
Member Since: Aug 2010
Default F85 Shock / elctronic suspension elimination

Looking for some advice on improving my C6 suspension. An having a and e-force super charger installed and wanted to improve the suspension at the same time. It's a stock c6 and I had z51 sway bars installed and am trying to install Bilstein shocks. Problem is I have electronic suspension and F85 shocks that are electronically contolled. If they're unplugged a mil light (check light) goes on and the cars speed is limited to 80mph (who wants that!). I bought a plug in kit from CorvetteGarage who got it from Casperselctronics that is supposed to plug right in and eliminate the issue. Problem is the part we received is close but the locking tab is wrong and it won't plug in. Box says it's for 2005+ and mine is 2007 so that's correct. Part num we have is 109096. My garage guys say they spoke to Casper and described the issue and were told we need part# 109066 but that one is for C4/5. What's up? Is it possible that GM used F85s on my car that were from C4/5 era? CorvertteGarage does not seem to know what's wrong.
michc63563 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 07:35 PM   #2
michc63563
Junior Member
 
Member Since: Aug 2010
Default

One more thing. I guess I interested in whether this make sense to do or whether I should send the Bilsteins back and stick with the electronic adjustable suspension I have??
michc63563 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 07:53 PM   #3
RicK T
CF Senior Member
 
RicK T's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michc63563 View Post
One more thing. I guess I interested in whether this make sense to do or whether I should send the Bilsteins back and stick with the electronic adjustable suspension I have??
I wasn't going to post in this thread 'cause I don't have the knowledge you're looking for. But, as to this question........I don't recall anyone going to the trouble to switch out the F55's for a standard shock, Bilstein or anything else. There probably are some who have but I don't know of any. Those who remove the F55's "usually" do it to go to coil overs. A better track set up and pretty nice on the street too.....but spendy.

Here's just a little info, you may want to contact these folks:

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/1572360729-post10.html

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/1574586205-post15.html
RicK T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:21 PM   #4
Zoxxo
CF Senior Member
 
Zoxxo's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2006
Location: San Jose California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicK T View Post
I wasn't going to post in this thread 'cause I don't have the knowledge you're looking for. But, as to this question........I don't recall anyone going to the trouble to switch out the F55's for a standard shock, Bilstein or anything else. There probably are some who have but I don't know of any.
My wife and I did it on her C6. Removed her 2007 F55 system for QA1 shocks.

The shock simulators won't work. The C6 F55 system does a self test every so often and it expects to see variable results. The shock sims are resistors that return a fixed result which the system sees as wrong. This is all in the service manual if you read up on the F55 system.

It can be done. You will need a Tech2 unit as part of the solution. Some folks seem to be able to make it go away with just the Tech2 software routine. Others not so much.

Z//
Zoxxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 09:25 PM   #5
RicK T
CF Senior Member
 
RicK T's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoxxo View Post
My wife and I did it on her C6. Removed her 2007 F55 system for QA1 shocks.

The shock simulators won't work. The C6 F55 system does a self test every so often and it expects to see variable results. The shock sims are resistors that return a fixed result which the system sees as wrong. This is all in the service manual if you read up on the F55 system.

It can be done. You will need a Tech2 unit as part of the solution. Some folks seem to be able to make it go away with just the Tech2 software routine. Others not so much.

Z//
One of your posts is the first one I linked above. I wasn't sure what you had switched to but your experience might help the OP.
RicK T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2010, 12:49 AM   #6
Zoxxo
CF Senior Member
 
Zoxxo's Avatar
 
Member Since: Nov 2006
Location: San Jose California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RicK T View Post
One of your posts is the first one I linked above. I wasn't sure what you had switched to but your experience might help the OP.
Ahh. Ok. I didn't look at the links 'cause I'm thinkin' "who's gonna tell me more about this?"

Z//
Zoxxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:29 PM   #7
michc63563
Junior Member
 
Member Since: Aug 2010
Default

I ended up using the shock simulators from Kasper Selectronics. Had to change out the connector. They said they only see the ones installed on my 2007 in one of 20 vehicles. No big deal though. The Bilstein shocks have been on for over a month now and no check engine light. Everything works great and the car handles a lot better.
michc63563 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:29 PM
 
Go Back   Corvette Forum > C6 Corvette, 2005 - 2013 > C6 Tech/Performance
Reload this Page F85 Shock / elctronic suspension elimination
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
2005, adjustable, caspers, corvette, electronic, eliminate, f55, shock, shocks, simulators, suspension


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Click for Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Emails & Password Backup