C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

O2 Oxygen Sensor questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2011, 10:30 AM
cooldog
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default O2 Oxygen Sensor questions

I've got a 2008 vert. I bought it at 44K miles, and it came with a Vararam CAI installed. I'm a fairly gentle driver, and the highway and average fuel consumption seems high to me. It averages about 20mpg, and got only 23.9 on a 800 mile highway trip.

In my '05 coupe, I used to get 25mpg average, and between 29 and 31mpg highway, depending on speed.

I've added headers, DeWitt rad, 160 degree thermostat, and a dyno-tune since I bought it. None of these has made the slightest change in the fuel efficiency (as pretty much expected).

I've been advised that my first step should be to replace the front O2 sensors.

So, here are some questions:

What brand is recommended?

Also, I've seen an adapter for running the rear sensors in the front. It's said that they have stronger heaters, which helps compensate for the greater distance from the exhaust ports due to the long-tube headers. Any thoughts on this???

Thanks.
Old 01-11-2011, 02:23 PM
Loaded08
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Sorry, I'm not addressing your question although I would stick to stock OEM parts when it comes to O2 sensors.

If your concern is gas mileage, consider a few things, your '08 is heavier (vert) and has a bigger engine (6.0 vs 6.2). Also, are you driving an auto now where you had a 6 speed before?

Also in terms of mileage, have you considered changing brands of gasoline? I know I get much better mileage running Chevron, 76, Shell, etc. than I do running grocery store brand, Arco, Tesoro, etc.

Edit: Running Cooler is far worse for fuel economy (radiator, 160 thermostat).

Cheers,