C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
View Poll Results: Should I go with a supercharger or build it up?
Supercharger
60.94%
Build-it-up
39.06%
Voters: 64. You may not vote on this poll

Forced Induction or Build it Up?

Old 05-30-2011, 11:28 PM
JMcDon1007
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Forced Induction or Build it Up?

I've been doing a ton of research on my dilemma, and although I've found a great deal of information, I still don't have all the answers I need. Since I'm a newbie, I thought I'd put this question out there for some of the experts!

I just bought a 6-Speed 2011 Torch Red GS and am contemplating whether or not to supercharge it or to go another route.

In regards to a s/c, I seem to like the e-Force from Edelbrock. I like the stock hood and since it fits underneath the hood, no change would be needed. Also, my local Chevy dealer (where I bought the car) will still offer a full 3/36 warranty on all parts. The downside is that they want $10,250 for the s/c and install. My questions are:

1. In terms of drivability, reliability, and power, what are the differences between, say, an A&A supercharger (Roots?) and an Eaton? This will be a daily driver and I want it to drive just like stock, offer great reliability, and give me a good boost in HP, but more importantly, torque, since it will be driven mostly around town or on 2-lane highways.

2. If I opt to go the route of no s/c, what process should I take to build up the right combination of parts so that everything works nicely together? How can I get the best bang-for-my-buck in regards to aftermarket performance parts? After doing tons of research in the forums, here's what I'm thinking:

a. A/R Headers
b. Borla or Corsa Exhaust (do these offer better flow than the stock NPP exhaust)