C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Milling 243 Head Questions...

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2014, 06:11 PM
Dave01GT
Burning Brakes
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 37 Likes on 30 Posts

Default Milling 243 Head Questions...

I have a Texas Speed 4.00 Stroke, 4.010 Bore, -10cc dished pistons, Patriot 64cc heads, and LS7S cam (242/250, .614/.614 114 LSA). I believe my compression is right at 10.6. I am new to LSX motors and have a few questions. With the large cam I am looking to get the most out of the motor N/A and up the compression to closer to 12:1. In order to do this, I ordered .040 Cometics and would need to mill the head down to a 56cc. Can 243 heads be milled that much (.048) or what is the optimum CC? Is flat or angle milling best? Would I have Piston to valve issues? Thanks for any input.

Last edited by Dave01GT; 03-31-2014 at 06:14 PM.
Old 04-01-2014, 10:07 PM
LSOHOLIC
Melting Slicks

Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by Dave01GT
I have a Texas Speed 4.00 Stroke, 4.010 Bore, -10cc dished pistons, Patriot 64cc heads, and LS7S cam (242/250, .614/.614 114 LSA). I believe my compression is right at 10.6. I am new to LSX motors and have a few questions. With the large cam I am looking to get the most out of the motor N/A and up the compression to closer to 12:1. In order to do this, I ordered .040 Cometics and would need to mill the head down to a 56cc. Can 243 heads be milled that much (.048) or what is the optimum CC? Is flat or angle milling best? Would I have Piston to valve issues? Thanks for any input.
Really not sure what your goals are......but....