C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Optima Battery - Are they any better than a generic from AutoZone?

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2014, 01:28 PM
JohnToner
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Optima Battery - Are they any better than a generic from AutoZone?

Are Optima batteries any better than generics from the likes of AutoZone or is it all just advertising puff? Also, Red Top vs Yellow Top?
Old 06-19-2014, 03:47 PM
C U IN REARVEIW
Le Mans Master

Received 110 Likes on 101 Posts

They are better due to being sealed and won't leak.....the guys at napa say that they see more of those come back than traditional batteries. I have no personal experience with them though.....
Old 06-19-2014, 06:40 PM
JohnToner
Advanced

Originally Posted by C U IN REARVEIW
They are better due to being sealed and won't leak.....the guys at napa say that they see more of those come back than traditional batteries. I have no personal experience with them though.....
Thanks, I'm interested b/c I've only had my car four weeks and I have no idea how old the battery is. When the current one was installed they didn't punch in the date info. The vehicle is 10 years old (2005). Because I work in the Compton, Lynwood, and Watts areas, (So. Cal versions of So. Chicago), and I'm not of the dominate demographic, a stalled car could be a serious problem. Especially since I don't get off work till 8:00 p.m. Whether it needs a new battery or not, I consider one to be cheap insurance.

Anyway, if an Optima battery is not all that optimal, should I be looking for a generic with the gel type electrolyte?
Old 06-19-2014, 07:27 PM
timd38
Race Director

Received 181 Likes on 162 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

Originally Posted by JohnToner