C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

FAIL Comp cams trunion upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2014, 12:34 AM
DerekeLakin
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FAIL Comp cams trunion upgrade

Has anyone else had problems? This is my 3rd set in 30,000 miles...The bearings keep wearing grooves in the trunion...I am a 15 year machinist with a shop and tested them on my Rockwell tester. They came in at 50Rc, a little low..
They were definitely installed right. I have PSI springs. Mild Katech cam. I run good Brad Penn oil. And I now believe these MIGHT have been the culprit that toasted my motor 20k miles ago..
Just curious what other peoples experiences are. Thanks Derek
Trunion on left is first set trunion on right is second set
just ordered 3rd set. And all trunions look the same

Old 10-12-2014, 01:43 AM
brewcitygymratt
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
St. Jude Donor '13

The trunion upgrade was highly recommended by advanced induction for my heads cam setup two months ago. Actually had several different people recommend the upgrade instead of using aftermarket rockers.

I'm interested to see if others have had issues with the upgrade as well.
Old 10-12-2014, 01:57 AM
DerekeLakin
Advanced

Yes this is such a highly recommended product used by so many in the aftermarket...
I wonder if more people have this problem and just dont know it
Old 10-12-2014, 06:44 AM
Pitufina
Drifting

Received 27 Likes on 26 Posts

Could it be the springs? I know you mentioned a katech mild cam, but mild due to low duration, lift, lsa, etc? I know those numbers can be misleading. The lobe ramp rate may be aggressive, like an lsk or lsr too. Just some food for thought.

Also, i read that some of these good oils contain a lot of zinc zddp? But some don't do to well on shear pressure...something along those lines.