C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil / Rubber Burning Smell

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2015, 04:16 PM
C6 Kyle
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil / Rubber Burning Smell

Had this c6 coupe about a month now and ever since I got it I have gotten a soft scent of burning oil / maybe rubber?? I can smell it after driving for a bit with the windows down, or sometimes through the AC after harder acceleration. I figured at first it may have been oil burning off after the dealership changed it when I purchased it, but its still here. Dont really know where its coming from, or if this is normal (dont think so).

Any body have any tips or suggestions? I'm new to corvettes and don't know a ton about them.

Love the car besides a few minor things.
Old 10-05-2015, 04:31 PM
timd38
Race Director

Received 181 Likes on 162 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

I would pick it up and look under the car. It could be too different many things to list.
Old 10-05-2015, 08:47 PM
CMY SIX
Safety Car

Received 104 Likes on 92 Posts

Tips or suggestions ah.....ah.... this is a hard one wait.... wait...... look for oil leaking or a rubber part against something hot? did I win?
Old 10-05-2015, 11:34 PM
C6topless
Pro

Received 33 Likes on 26 Posts

start with examining the cover on the passenger side--- do you see any oil residue at or around the filler cap? look also down for any signs of an oil trail .. last over change the tech could have slopped oil and you are smelling the burn off.

next remove the plastic cover and look around your coils for any oil... same as above (sloppy oil change )

check the oil line that runs into the radiator ... any noticeable leaks?

this is just a start ...
Old 10-07-2015, 01:06 PM
C6 Kyle
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by C6topless