C6 Tech/Performance LS2, LS3, LS7, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Botched Fuel Pump Diagnosis, Now low pressure on load, Any good ideas ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2016, 07:12 PM
mitsu-guy
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Botched Fuel Pump Diagnosis, Now low pressure on load, Any good ideas ?

Hello, guy's, here's a quick background to give you an idea of what series of events went down and some general information. Firstmost my name is Jordon and I just graduated with an Associates in Automotive/Motorsports/Diesel Truck Technology. I'd say on average I'm a Tech B mechanic but I've had some bad luck here and there and well this is one of them. I have a 2008 Z51 Base 3LT MZ6 with roughly 45k on the odometer.

Around October of last year, I had maybe three hard starts with the Corvette. Where it would experience long cranking and hesitation to turn over. I would let it sit over night and then it would turn over as if there was no preexisting problem.

The last time it would not turn over I happened to be parked outside the garage at the college I was attending. Me and one of the master techs (previously worked at a GM dealership for 20+ years) did a really short and quick diagnosis of the fuel pump. I turned the ignition on and didn't hear the pump kick on so we jumped the fuel pump relay and still didn't hear the fuel pump kick on.